Pillow talk

Pillowcases.jpg 

Yay, I turned 32 yesterday!  Even though the whole weekend was gray and drizzly, I found some cheery pillowcases at one of my favorite thrift stores, Urban Renewals in Allston.  The picture is a little dark but the colors are quite bright and happy in real life.  I also picked up a couple of wool coats that I felted to make stuffed animals with. 

I had a great birthday weekend.  I went to 3 thrift stores, had good meals with friends, started making my squirrel…did all the things that I enjoyed.  There’s a show on MTV called My Super Sweet 16 and it’s basically about these rich spoiled kids trying to have the biggest baddest sweet 16 parties ever.  Once in awhile I catch the show and I get sucked in (kinda like watching a train wreck).  Yesterday’s show was about Alexa’s sweet 16.  She cried because she didn’t like the center pieces that were on the tables (they cost $3000, boohoo).  There were hundreds of kids partying at some nice hotel.  At the end of the night, she got a brand new car (which she’ll probably wreck in a few days) and a diamond crested rolex that looked like what rich OLD ladies would wear.  She seemed happy.  I was grossed out by her rotten attitude and all that money that was spent on the party and gifts.

The show did make me realize that I’m twice her age now…so my birthday was really a Sweet 16 x 2!

2 Responses to “Pillow talk”


  1. 1 Haptotrope February 14, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    Sorry I didn’t get you 2 rolex-es.

    happy birthday!

  2. 2 mini February 15, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    Ugh! I have that show. U are so right. It’s vile & these kids have “baditude”! Ok, having said that — I LOVE ‘Pimp my Ride”! 🙂
    Cute vintage fabric, BTW.


Leave a Reply

