No Chinese New Year’s Dinner for me

 clay-dumplings.jpeg

I was supposed to go down to MD for Chinese New Year this weekend but my parents are freaking out about the road “condition” because of the recent snow.  A few years ago, I would’ve driven down anyway to make my point that the roads are fine, but I’ve decided not to go this time to save everyone from my parents’ overwhelming anxiety.

My aunts wanted to make dumplings from scratch and I was going to make the wrappers.  I’ve “helped” my grandma make dumplings when I was little but I wasn’t able to make the wrappers with one hand rolling the rolling pin and the other turning the dough in circles.  It wasn’t until many years later when I was living on my own that I realized I could roll out wrappers like the way my grandma did!  So now I’m the official dumpling wrapper maker in the family.  My rule is, if you’re going to make dumplings from scratch, you HAVE to make the wrappers from scratch too.  None of that store bought wrappers nonsense. 

Anyway, the picture is of a couple of porcelain dumplings I made a few years ago.  Happy Chinese/Lunar New Year everyone!!

1 Response to “No Chinese New Year’s Dinner for me”


  1. 1 mini February 15, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Happy new year!
    (Can I please, please, please have that bowl?)
    😉


Leave a Reply

