It’s like Christmas in February!

 fabric-and-pads.jpeg

Woohoo, I got two packages this week!  4 pieces of vintage fabric from Ebay and 7 cloth menstrual pads from a swap in Craftster!  Check out some of Noodle Princess’s beautiful pads.  Now I know what to do with all my flannel fabric!

Yes, cloth pads are reusable so they require you to wash them but they are so much better than disposable pads in so many ways:

1. They are environmentally friendly (can be made with recycled fabric, you’ll be producing way less waste (the average woman will use 16,800 pads or tampons in her lifetime….that’s A LOT of waste), and they can decompose unlike plastic pads)

2. They save you $$

3. They are COMFORTABLE and breathable

4. They are customizable (the color, shape, size combinations are endless!)

You’d think I’ve used these for years but these are my first ones.  I’m spreadin’ the word!

I love how there are so many craftsters out there who make their own pads.  Just look at this Craftster thread.  I was too lazy to make my own so I jumped at the chance for a swap but now I think I’ll start cranking them out for my skeptical friends.  Yeah, you know who you are and now you know what you’ll be getting for your birthdays!!

2 Responses to “It’s like Christmas in February!”


  1. 1 Lise February 22, 2007 at 10:45 am

    You’re not factoring in the evironmental issues regarding using a washing machine (as most people would) to clean them. Just like the diaper issue – it’s complicated. And those colors are soooo ’80s! 😉

  2. 2 kraftasmic February 22, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Yes, I did think about using water and the washing machine but you can use the cold water to rinse them out while you’re waiting for the shower to get hot instead of letting all that water just go down the drain and I would never just do a load with nothing but pads. You throw them in the washer with your other laundry.


Leave a Reply

