Crossing paths in a small world

 houses-on-windowsill.jpeg

Today I’m meeting up with a friend who I haven’t seen in 14 years.  I bumped into him at work (my work, his school).  Well, I wouldn’t say we just bumped into each other.  His resume came across my desk last year when he was applying to law school and I recognized his name.  I thought I saw him a few times this school year but I wasn’t sure (it has been 14 years).  Last week he came up to meet with a professor in my suite and by that time I was pretty sure of who he was.  I debated whether to go up to him or not and I’m glad I did. We used to play in an orchestra together when we were in high school.  I remember that we giggled a lot and that it was fun sharing a stand with him.  It looks like he went to school all these years and we were both in the Boston/Cambridge area for the past 9 years or so.  Small world!

Please share your small world story in the comments section!

2 Responses to “Crossing paths in a small world”


  1. 1 raquel March 16, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    oh my goodness. I’ve been having a lot of these lately.

    I think my favorite was the time I had a 2 old friends from high school and another (more recent friend) over to dinner at my house in Austin.

    Everyone brought boyfriends, and we quickly discovered that the boyfriends of my high-school chums had been friends is high school in New Haven 10 years ago but hadn’t spoken since. And the third girl of the group had ridden the schoolbus with my boyfriend in North Carolina!

    It was both fun and strange.

  2. 2 raquel March 19, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    I just remembered another one!

    Found out at dinner in Austin last week that a new acquaintance was an alum of the very same tiny, obscure farm-school-semester-program in Vermont that I am. And her roommate at said farm-school was my first-ever roommate in Boston.

    (Hi, by the way. I’m Raquel.
    I found your blog through craftster, I also collect those great little stackable japanese mugs, and I love small-world stories/coincidences. )


Leave a Reply

