Drywall progress

I think I’m getting little obsessed about taping and mudding my drywalls.  I’m trying to limit sanding as much as possible so I’ve been shining a light against the wall and smoothing things out with mud.  Holding a light next to the walls is like looking at your face close up with one of those magnifying mirrors.  Holy crap!  You see all these imperfections and you just want to cover them up.  And now I’m going after the old drywall taping job I did a few years back to feather out some of the seams even more (I didn’t know about the light trick back then).  Why do I torture myself like this?  It doesn’t help that I still have all my furniture in the room but at least I can stand on some of them so I don’t have to move my ladders around as much.

I am getting better at this whole drywall finishing business but I’d love to hone my skills even more.  I actually asked my contractor who framed the walls for me to hire me if he needs help on weekends.  He said he likes my work.  I’ll have to send him some pictures when I’m done with all of this (hopefully soon).

2 Responses to “Drywall progress”


  1. 1 heather January 2, 2008 at 11:46 am

    well, here’s the first obvious thing we don’t have in common – patience. i have zero, and you are like the mr. miyagi-san of drywall. wipe on, sand off…wipe on, sand off…

    Hope you had a happy new year! yay for 2008! It’s gonna be a good year, i can feel it too.

  2. 2 ellen January 2, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Well, I wouldn’t really call it patience…it’s more like being stubborn. If I was more patient, I wouldn’t have to fix the old taping job I did a few years ago!


Leave a Reply

