2 teeth less and in a buttload of pain

8:30am   went in to get wisdom teeth extracted

9:00am   drove home with cotton gauze, ice pack, and 2 wisdom teeth in a little envelope

11:40am  novacaine started to wear off.  took 1 extra strength vicodin.

12:10pm  still in a lot of pain so took 3 advils because doctor said I can’t take 2 vicodins at once.

12:30pm  pain’s not going away (mostly from the impacted tooth) after 1 extra strength vicodin and 3 advils … why does it take so long for the painkillers to kick in?

I am NOT a happy camper  😦

2 Responses to “2 teeth less and in a buttload of pain”


  1. 1 gwendolyn February 6, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    First, I just want to say that I’ve been reading your blog for a while, and I love it! I’m sorry to hear you’re in so much pain. When I had my wisdom teeth out, I wrapped bags of frozen peas in dish clothes and held them to my face. That seemed to help. I also lived for a whole week on Blue Bell Dutch Chocolate Ice Cream and nothing else. Hope you are feeling better soon!

  2. 2 heather February 8, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    …and i thought i was the only one suffering this week. so sorry to hear about your painful tooth extraction. i had all four of mine taken out, three at once and then the fourth impacted one a couple years later. the impacted one actually became a dry socket and i was miserable for at least a week. i hope you don’t have to go through that!

    i’ve had the flu from hell that wont go away since last saturday so i haven’t been on the computer much, just resting. last night my mom came over and made traditional korean rice cake soup for new year’s and it reminded me of chopchicks. i think since we are both kind of out of commission it can wait a little while longer….

    take care!


Leave a Reply

