Mending torn bedsheets

 

I have 2 fitted sheets and they both have big “T” shaped tears in them.  Instead of chucking these and buying new sheets, I’ve decided to mend them.  I’m sure there are people out there who thinks it’s a waste of time but I think driving to the store and waiting in line at the cash register is a waste of my time (not to mention money) and I choose to spend my time living consciously, creatively, and simply.   I actually really enjoyed mending the sheets and now I like my sheets even more than before!  Here’s what I did:

Iron the sheet where the tear is and tape the tear with masking tape on the wrong side of the sheet to stabilize the fabric.

Cut out a piece of fabric that’s bigger than the tear with pinking shears.

Baste the fabric patch onto the right side of the sheet over the tear.

Zigzag stitch all around the patch.

Cut out the torn part from the back of the sheet with pinking shears to prevent further fraying of the tear.

Ask your dog to pose on the patched sheet.

And here’s the second sheet I patched.  The tear is huge because I kept on putting my foot through it when I’m sleeping.  The patches are so cute that I wish I didn’t have to cover them up with my comforter. 

3 Responses to “Mending torn bedsheets”


  1. 2 Mme. Meow February 20, 2008 at 8:01 am

    What a great idea! For a second I thought you were going to make a t-shaped patch, in homage to the tear. And I, too, must ask: why a t-shaped tear?

    (CUTE fabric, too!)

  2. 3 ellen February 20, 2008 at 9:14 am

    I have no idea why the tear is T-shaped…maybe that’s just the way bed sheets tear. Both of them are that way.

    The FUN part is picking out the fabric!!


Leave a Reply

