Cooking at home

Last night’s jia jian mien (a Chinese noodle sauce traditionally made with pork and chili bean sauce but I made it with ground turkey, chili bean sauce, spaghetti sauce, and shredded carrots) … would’ve been today’s lunch if I hadn’t left it on the counter this morning!  Arrrgghhh!!!!!

I’ve been cooking more and bringing my lunch to work for the past 3 months or so.  I also started eating breakfast on a daily basis and as a result I lost 5 pounds (I wasn’t trying to lose weight on purpose).  I didn’t change my exercise routine (which consists of walking the dog and that’s about it) and I still eat until I’m full so the weight loss is really from NOT buying breakfast and lunch from the cafeteria and ordering Chinese and pizza once or twice a week for dinner.  So there Hollywood, this is the secret to losing weight … cook your own damn meals!

Anyway, this noodle dish is one of my favorite dishes to make and the sauce freezes well.  Damn it, I really wish I hadn’t left my lunch at home…

2 Responses to “Cooking at home”


  1. 1 heather February 20, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    mmm…ja-jang mein…one of my favorites. ya know, in korea, i used to order chinese take-out with my nanny. she always got the ja-jang mein and i always got the jam-pong. we split each other’s food 50/50. then we left the dishes out by the front gate and about an hour or so later they would come pick them up. could you imagine if they did that here? a lot less styrofoam, that’s for sure…. this needs to be on chopchicks, huh?

    here’s what i really meant to ask…what did you eat for breakfast? i’m sick of instant oatmeal and yogurt. I always seem to run out of ideas on what to cook and i just don’t have the time and effort to make extensive meal plans.

  2. 2 Kim February 21, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    This looks SO GOOD! You must share the recipe. I am also very angry – I left my great lunch at home this morning too!


Leave a Reply

