Marathon glazing

This is what I did last night … 22 soap dishes glazed and ready to be fired this weekend!  I remember when I glazed for the very first time in college, I was confused to see that the celadon glaze (a pale green glaze after it’s been fired) is actually pink in liquid form (like the 2 pink ones toward the end of the table).  So these will look quite different when they come out of the kiln on Monday.

A woman at the studio was SHOCKED to see that I’ve been making my soap dishes because I normally don’t start making stuff until a month before the Show and Sale.   I told her that I will be selling these on Etsy so I’ve been going to the studio and making things on a regular basis.

So hopefully around the middle of April, I will have enough soaps and dishes to sell on Etsy.  Before then, I’ll try to list some of my vintage stuff on there for practice.

1 Response to “Marathon glazing”


  1. 1 carla February 29, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I like to let people know how I came across their blogs, but how I found yours, I can’t recall. I’m so glad I did, though. I’ve been enjoying it for maybe couple of months or so. I’ve read your entries on sewing, and I’m happy to find another vintage machine lover. I have two old Singers and an old Kenmore. Because of you, I’m scoping Craigslist, hoping one of those long-arm deals falls into my lap!

    Anyhow, I’m all excited over these soap dishes and will surely try and grab one once they’re on Etsy.

    Craft on!

    Carla


Leave a Reply

