Cooking with what you’ve got

Dinner on the left and packed lunch on the right – they are yummier than they look.

So in my last post I mentioned that I buy what’s on sale at the grocery store and then I come up with meals with what I bought as one of the ways I save money.  I wanted to show you how simple it is and it’s easy to save a lot of money when you cook this way.  Granted, I only cook for myself so I don’t have to worry about other people’s tastes or food restrictions.  I’m also fine with eating the same thing for a few days because I don’t want to cook everyday.  My dishes don’t have names and they’re almost always one pot meals (again, to limit cooking and washing dishes during the weekdays).  When you buy things on sale, try to stock up what you always use so you can have them around all the time.  Onions, carrots, and potatoes keep well for weeks and of course canned beans and jarred sauces last for years.

I went to the supermarket and got some ground chicken, green beans. and broccoli (all on sale), now I shall attempt to make a meal out of them!

Cook some chopped onions in olive oil.  Brown ground chicken with onions.  Throw in some chopped green beans.  I had some Soy Vay left (but I could’ve easily used soy sauce, hoisin sauce, and minced garlic) so I added some of that, a couple spoonfuls of hoisin sauce, a little water, and a few big squirts of hot sauce (I like my food spicy).  Throw some broccoli on top of everything and cover with lid and cook until broccoli is tender.  Eat with brown rice.  Pack leftovers for lunch. 

That’s it!  Inexpensive, yummy, quick, AND healthy!  I like saucy dishes because I like to mix the sauce with my rice.  I think I probably got 6-7 meals out of this.  I could’ve easily made something similar with ground turkey/tofu/chickpeas for protein and any kind of vegetables that are on sale.  So, should I write my own cookbook, How to Afford to Eat When Inflation Outpaces your Annual Raise?  Any book publishers out there reading this post?  I have other recipes and ideas… 

1 Response to “Cooking with what you’ve got”


  1. 1 Heather April 8, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    yes! yes! I want a copy of that book!


Leave a Reply

