A wonderful long weekend

This is the conversation I had with my sister on Thursday night.

The phone rings.

Sis: Hey, what are you doing this weekend?

Me: (Thinking: I want to finally nail down the baseboards in my bedroom, clean all the windows, basically spend the whole weekend spring cleaning.)  Oh, nothin’ much, just hanging around.

Sis: C (her bf) and I want to come up to Boston.

Me: (!) When?

Sis: Either Friday night or Saturday morning.

Me: (OMG, can I clean the entire house by Friday night?!)  When will you know?

Sis: We haven’t gotten the tickets yet, we’re trying to see if we can find some cheap tickets.

Me: (Oh f#ck, the craft room/guest room is a freaking mess!!) Um, when will you let me know when you guys are coming if you guys do come?

Sis: I’ll call you back.

Me: (I can’t deal with this – I’m gonna watch Law and Order and knit my bag.)

The  phone rings again half an hour later.

Sis: We got tickets!  We’re flying in on Saturday morning!

Me: (Yes, that’ll give me Friday night and Saturday morning to clean the house.)  Cool, see you guys on Saturday.

I ended up just knitting on Friday night and I basically did a “crap relocation” and moved all the crap from the craft/guest room to another room and closed the door on Saturday.  I did get some cleaning done (probably more than I would’ve done if I didn’t have visitors) and had a great time hanging out with my sister and her bf.   We ate too much, complained about our bulging bellies, walked around Boston and Salem, and ate some more.  Oh, and I had time to finish knitting my market bag.  T’was a very good long weekend indeed.

1 Response to “A wonderful long weekend”


  1. 1 Heather May 27, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    haha…crap relocation… that’s about what i do anytime someone comes over, too. glad you had a nice time with your sis! do we get to see your market bag you knitted?


Leave a Reply

