WWMD – What would MacGyver do?

A few years ago I made a compost bin out of a trash can and drilled holes around it for ventilation.  I composted for a summer (dumping in kitchen scraps, weeds, dried leaves, and dirt) and gave up because I wasn’t sure if my compost bin was working or not.  This weekend, I took a peek inside and found all this “dirt” in it!  I’m still not sure if that’s real compost or if one of my neighbors just dumped some soil in it.  I poked around it with a trowel and found these buried inside…

WTF?!?!?!  Who the hell dumped these MacGyver DVDs in my compost bin and how long have they been in there??  Anyway, MacGyver was my hero when I was a kid and I’m thrilled to have the DVDs (wherever they came from).  He probably could’ve made a kickass compost bin with a tire, wire hanger, and a tube of chapstick but I think I’ll start using my ghetto bin again.  I wonder what else buried in it?!

6 Responses to “WWMD – What would MacGyver do?”


  1. 1 Heather June 3, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    that’s freakin hilarious. i wish someone would dump random goodies in my compost bin. – well, maybe not the compost bin cause it stinks!

    i love mcguyver, he’s my hero too 😉

  2. 2 Mme. Meow June 3, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Don’t you see? Your composter broke the scraps down into MacGyver DVDs! It’s a MacGyver miracle! 😀

    (and if there was no smell and no bugs, you did something right)

  3. 3 everydaycraftygoodness June 3, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Really, no smell and no bugs meant I did it right? A friend said that it looks more like dirt than compost (I did put some dirt in it at some point). I’m going to turn it with a shovel and will post pictures if I find anythying else (like a severed head)!

  4. 4 mimi June 11, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    wow, i’m going to try to compost for L Word dvds now!

  5. 5 jessica September 23, 2008 at 2:56 am

    LOL, merry Christmas! This is so weird, I think aliens may have been involved.

  6. 6 Johan September 28, 2008 at 1:17 am

    Ha ha hilarious! You lucked out by trying to pull a macgyver! Veg clippings into soil, it’ll never work.


Leave a Reply

